Classes

VSA Florida coordinates inclusive art classes in communities across the state. Want to bring a class to your community?

  • Identify a group of at least 7 participants. Participants with or without any type of disability can be included.
  • Find a community space willing to share a room for classes at no charge (schools, libraries, places of faith, etc)
  • Call us and we’ll connect you with a professional teaching artist to teach visual art, music, dance and movement, literary arts, or drama. Each artist is trained to work with adaptive materials and alternative solutions to enable all participants to succeed.

Class fee: $10 per student per session. We generally run programs for six weeks at a time.
For more information, contact Wendy Finklea, Director of Programs at 813-974-0715 or wfinklea@usf.edu

Children creating artwork in a VSAFL community art class
Thursday, December 1, 2016 to Thursday, April 27, 2017

Explore the exciting and amazing world down in the deep blue sea. Join VSAFL teaching artist, Chris Kastle to create individual and collaborative works that depict the variety of the vast oceans. Classes are open to all students with disabilities and their siblings.

Children creating artwork in an art class
Tuesday, January 24, 2017 to Wednesday, May 31, 2017

Circle of Friends & Stars invites your child to a creative, fun-filled, musically stimulating environment to discover their creative sides.

Man and woman dancing
Tuesday, March 7, 2017 to Tuesday, May 2, 2017

Dancing Through Parkinson's is a dance class which enhances the overall quality of life of those who have Parkinson's through the well-being gained from creative expression, social interaction, and exercise.

Young man enjoying art
Thursday, April 20, 2017 to Thursday, May 25, 2017

Join VSA teaching artists, Aaron Lepley and Christine Sizemore at the Land O'Lakes Recreation Complex for Music for Special Needs Students!

Animation character, Captain Yuron
Monday, July 17, 2017 to Friday, July 21, 2017

VSA Florida presents 2017 Animation Gets Real Summer Camp for Students with Autism and Related Disabilities Tampa, July 17-21, 2017 Miami, July 24-28, 2017

Logo for EFMP
Monday, July 24, 2017 to Friday, July 28, 2017

MacDill AFB Airman and Family Readiness Center in partnership with VSA Florida present "Artfully Fun" summer day camp.